Spring is here – love yellow

 

For all of you who follow my Instagram squares – you’ll know I have a penchant for yellow. Only in small doses, however – accessories, rather than large expanses of paint, and more often than not, of the mustard yellow variety.

As a naturally optimistic and creative person, I may be drawn to yellow for its energising and uplifting feel. Or perhaps I like the way a splash of it here and there in a cushion or vase, adds interest to the fairly neutral backdrop of my home interior.

Www.colorpsychology.org states “Yellow is the brightest color of the visible spectrum, and it is the most noticeable of all colors by the human eye. It means happiness and optimism; it is the color of sun shining, or bright light and creativity. It is believed to have an influence on the left side of our brain, where deep thinking and perception dwells.”

To be honest, I didn’t realise I was so keen on the shade until I came across the yellow metro tiles that surround my bathtub (okay, so I do have one reasonably large expanse). When I saw them on the Topps Tiles website, I knew I just had to have them, despite initially being on the hunt for something quite different! The family bathroom, where they’re situated, off-set against crisp white walls, is such a joyful room – warm and welcoming and a place all my family are very happy to spend an hour relaxing in, taking a bubble bath.

img_3769

Our family bathroom, affectionately referred to as ‘the yellow bathroom’

I also love blush pink which is the other ‘accent’ colour in my home and, believe it or not, blush and mustard are a match made in heaven! Not only in interiors, but clothing too.

img_7002

How beautiful is this bag and skirt combo? Photo credit google images.

Since spring has finally sprung after a long, arduous winter, I thought I would show you my favourite 10 yellow/mustard home accessories that are available now on the highstreet and in independent stores. And it seems I am bucking the trend as there’s an abundance of the colour out there right now, so you can shop ’til you drop (or never want to see anything yellow again!)

img_6991

This gorgeous woven seagrass basket with yellow detail is £17.99 from H&M Home.

img_7018

These HAY bathroom towels in yellow are available for £25 from Amara.

img_6993

The Noah crockery set from Made.com comes in grey and yellow and costs £69

img_7006

Brighten up your dining space with this lovely Azilia tablecloth in yellow and grey, available from £36 at La Redoute.

img_7003

This fab New York pendant shade is currently in the sale at Iconic Lights for only £20!

img_6996

This Prism bath mat, colour Taxi Cab (brilliant name) from Christy is made from Turkish cotton and is part of a matching set. £8.00

img_7007

Habitat’s Garda yellow ceramic vase is perfect for brightening up a dark corner. £10.00

img_5840-1

Treat yourself to a merino corn chunky knit blanket from The Blanket Box – £180 for a kingsize bed runner.

img_7019

Yellow is the perfect colour for a piece of retro style furniture. This Hermann Occasional chair from Maisons Du Monde looks super comfy and costs £354.00

img_6999

Bag yourself a Venus cushion cover – stylish and eye catching – from Etsy shop, Home of Boho. Very reasonably priced at £25.00

Happy shopping!

Kat x

Published by

lifeatnumber63

Interiors lover and newbie blogger

2 thoughts on “Spring is here – love yellow”

  1. Inspired by your lovely yellow accents on instagram, I just updated my living room couch with some yellow velvet cushions from H&M Home! They make my whole space feel so lovely and bright.
    Take care, Rowan | rowanmorrissy.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment